Maelstrom (1995)

Duration/Other Info Op. 13 {13'}
Description For Violin, Cello and Piano
Premiere 2 April 1995 - Ermina Trio (Joanna Kurkowicz, violin; Jennifer Lucht, cello; Michal Friedlander, piano) Jordan Hall - Boston, Massachusetts
Awards Winner of the New England Conservatory Honors Piano Trio Competition-First Prize
Notes Taken from Edgar Allen Poe's A Descent into the Maelstrom, this piece tries to capture some of the spirit of that shreiking whirlpool (Clip1). Clip 2 has a projected lullaby heard among the midst of the storm which transforms into a groove for the strings.
Sample Trio1 | Trio2

<:Back | Contact Me